PhotoBeast

The Photography Blog from Beastmaster.co.uk

Holiday Diary – France and Italy August 2015 Day 4

Leave a comment

  
The day dawned dull and while there was no rain it threatened ominously in the sky. The beach then was not calling us and another lazy morning seemed the most promising option. Restless, I got up and had some weetabix to satisfy the hunger I always wake with. The previous night I finished Bear Grylls’ latest book Ghost Flight which proved to be a formulaic action adventure story which is clearly going to be spread over four books to maximise revenue. A fair enough action thriller but I seem to prefer books set in a more everyday setting. Peanut has just raced through a first novel by Lucy Foley called The Book of Lost And Found and so I was keen to give it a whirl. 

The morning saw me get well into it and much of it is revolving around a love affair of an up and coming artist in the twenties who was to achieve fame. It’s the right sort of book to read here in the south of France. This place awakens new desires and interests. I’m not a scientist in any way and nor am I artistic but it is the arts that excite me and this place makes me want to exercise the creativity that in truth I just don’t have. I love photography but I’m not creative with it particularly I just take what I call posh snaps. Others I know just take postcards. So when I come here I achieve a real peace. I really relax, I am a step removed from my life at home, a whirlwind of adventure juxtaposed with Internet overload and all lived under the ever longer reaching shadow of The Big C. And yet it is this precise relaxed state that I inevitably resist as my mind seeks other distractions. A desire to be somehow creative is the strongest urge and when I fail to find an outlet for this other things jump out. I love fashion and style, odd if I didn’t having spent most of my life in the clothing industry, so shopping becomes the next outlet. I love to seek things out for Mrs P, so doubtless that will kick in, in lieu of any obvious opportunity to express a modicum of creativity. Our apartment needs a refresh, a new chair, or bistro table set and a rug. And at this point in my thought process, the way the day would play out was dictated.

More boiled eggs, a shower and we were ready for the day. Shopping in Cogolin and lunch and more shopping in St Tropez was the plan for the day. Alas the furniture stores in Cogolin and on the way to Cogolin yielded nothing. No sexy chairs or cute bistro sets and not a rug in sight! 

  
We pointed at St Tropez and oddly for us got stuck in loads of traffic. This gave me a chance to drool over Porsches, Maseratis and Ferraris before I concluded that I was in a contrary mood and loved the Citroen Cactus, the Renault Captur and the Jeep Renegade.

Finally in St Tropez we set off seeking lunch and found an appealing restaurant a little above the port accessed through the Three Arches for those familiar with this bohemian fishing village. Peanut had a lasagne which passed muster while I had a beef stew Provencale style which I have to say was delicious.

  
Lunch done we sauntered but in truth found little to tempt. Certainly no furniture. The Longchamps shop did have a very nice handbag and matching gloves that gave food for thought but apart from that nothing and we left St Tropez without even a tarte Tropezienne!

We did however, take a look around an art exhibition, where for me the most impressive collection was some black and white photography. However, as this was new work so digital, I found the excessive film grain that had been back added, matched to a lack of sharpening, a bit of a shame as it aped film and therefore lacked originality. Don’t get me wrong I personally make great use of film effects and grain in the digital editing room but I like to keep the super sharpness inherent in digital imagery so I’m not trying to fool anyone. 

  
And that was our day, lunch, a bit of window shopping, a light and frothy nosey around an art gallery and back home for dinner and a good read. And you know what? I loved every minute of it!

Author: ibeastie

Interested in Photography, Watches, Style and Cars

Leave a Reply

