PhotoBeast

The Photography Blog from Beastmaster.co.uk

Tales from a Fractured Folly 28th January 2017

Leave a comment

I think it’s safe to say I was in a bit of a mood when I posted yesterday’s rant. For that I apologise but as I have become what might be called by some, one who writes a diary, today it falls upon me to understand what happened there. Without the benefit of looking back, stepping back and considering, it could have just been forgotten. 

To put it simply, I had had a pleasant day, and came home to find that bill on my doormat. I resented it all bitterly, everything it stood for and reminded me of, that hateful disease, the sadness, the helplessness, the tears, the hugs, the watching and waiting, hoping and wishing. All of it just in case it had just briefly slipped out of my mind, there, whoosh, just to remind me I still owed them money. Three days after his funeral and I have already paid them half. So I was going to find fault with it wasn’t I?

Back to today’s picture above. This is the most beautiful display of knitted and crocheted poppies in the Cheltenham Town Hall, all done by the staff of GCHQ for the poppy thing last year. Me and a friend went there for Lulu’s vintage fair which was very good, I would recommend it and only £2 entrance. Bought some bits and bobs, by far the most astounding being this gorgeous little box for £6. I have no idea what it is made of but it weighs a ton.
We had a leisurely lunch in Carluccio’s, with chocolate bread and butter pudding and ice cream for pud which was amazing. So I have had another pleasant day. Only two lots of tears: once in Lulu’s fair when they sang “I can’t help falling in love with you” and the other when I wrote this and no horrid bills when I came home. So, a better day.

Groovy word of the Day: melancholy

Author: ibeastie

Interested in Photography, Watches, Style and Cars

Leave a Reply

